Book Review: “A Gift of Sanctuary” by Candace Robb

"Gift of Sanctuary" by Candace Robb

“Gift of Sanctuary” by Candace Robb

This is the sixth Owen Archer mystery, the first I have read and possibly the last. This is a Medieval mystery set in the late Middle Ages. Owen Archer is working for the Duke of Lancaster, looking to recruit archers in South Wales for his master and also to check if the defences are sufficient should a French fleet invade. Owen Archer is of Welsh origin but hasn’t been back to his homeland for fifteen years. He is accompanied on his mission by a certain Geoffrey Chaucer. The pair intended to meet with John de Reine one of Lancaster’s men from Cydweli, but they arrive too late as Reine has been murdered. Owen Archer maybe Welsh but he lacks the wit and wisdom of Cadfael. The mystery isn’t especially gripping, I wasn’t anxiously turning the pages, and I found a lot of the Welsh names (like Dafydd,  Dyfrig and Gruffydd) confusing, despite having lived 5 years in Wales myself. The setting seems authentic and there is a lot of description of Medieval apothecary (I note the first book in the series is “The Apothecary Rose”). In addition to Geoffrey Chaucer, a famous Welsh bard of the time Dafydd ap Gwilym has a cameo role.

My rating 3 out of 5

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 3 star review, Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

