“Private Berlin” by James Patterson and Mark Sullivan

Private Berlin

Private Berlin…the cover is misleading there is nothing about a lethal Nazi conspiracy, the book’s dark depths come from the communist era in the German Democratic Republic when the Stasi reigned unchallenged.

This is a veritable page turner of a thriller. Mattie Engel’s ex-fiancé and fellow Private agent Chris Schneider goes missing. Chris’s body turns up in a rat infested abandoned slaughterhouse, the forensic job is a nightmare, the blood samples they take in the slaughterhouse are not only human but also porcine and bovine. Worse, the slaughterhouse is primed with explosives set to go off to hide its secrets. Mattie knows Chris had a troubled past back in East Germany and his failure to confide in her led to their split.

Chris’s troubled past relates to a group of orphaned children back in the German Democratic Republic, whose mothers were tortured and killed by a sadistic tool of the dreaded Stasi. Not all the Stasi were stopped by the fall of the Wall. One ruthless killer is still at large intent on erasing his past, an “invisible man” adept at using masks and make up. The passages focusing on the killer are chillingly recounted in the first person, so we get into his twisted mind. His favoured method of execution is a sharpened screwdriver inserted into the nape of the neck and pushed into the brain so he can enjoy every last moment as his twitching victim dies. The killer’s favourite movie is the old film “Invisible Man” particularly a scene where the Irish actress Una O’Connor enters Claude Rains room when he has removed the bandages on his head.

He looks decapitated, but alive.

O’Connor’s eyes bulge. She goes over the top insane. She starts to shriek bloody murder.

It’s my special moment, one I wish I could recreate in my own life.

There are other investigations entwined with the plot: a billionaire suspected of cheating on his wife, a footballer who seems to be throwing games and a nightclub owner with links to the Russian Mafia.

The chapters are short and full of action and adrenaline for fans of the thriller genre, the ending, which I won’t spoil, may seem a little clichéd.

Apparently one of the authors, James Patterson holds the Guinness World Record for being the first person to sell 1 million e-books. I still haven’t ventured into e-books and continue with the traditional paperback.

My rating 5 out of 5

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 5 Star Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Private Berlin” by James Patterson and Mark Sullivan

  1. Pingback: “Pop Goes the Weasel” by James Patterson | jimholroyd365b

  2. Pingback: “Private London” by James Patterson and Mark Pearson | jimholroyd365b

Leave a Reply

