“The Romanov Prophesy” by Steve Berry

Russia is a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma.” Churchill

P1360809

The Romanov Prophecy by Steve Berry

The Romanov Prophecy feels very much like a Dan Brown book. Instead of the Rose Line of the Da Vinci Code, here we have the Romanov Line, the line of the Russian Royal Family which Lenin had intended to obliterate.

We are plunged straight into the action, when Miles Lord, a black Atlanta lawyer, is shot at in a Moscow street. The Russian people have just voted to replace their leader with a tsar, Miles Lord had been checking into the credentials of the chosen candidate, a distant relative of Nicholas II, backed by the politicians, the mafia and the military. What Miles had discovered in his research was that not all the Romanovs had been killed that fateful day in Yekaterinburg (July 16, 1918) and that two of the Tsar’s children Alexei and Anastasia were rescued and smuggled out of Russia to America.*

The Prophecy of the title relates to Rasputin who foretold that if he were to die at the hands of a member of the royal family, the family were doomed and could only be resurrected by the actions of a raven and an eagle.

In this story Miles Lord is the raven, being black or chorniye, there are few blacks in Moscow, which makes it difficult for Miles to elude his pursuers. On the night train from St Petersburg to Moscow, fleeing from his pursuers who he nicknames “Droopy” and “Cro Magnon”, we never learn their real names, he hides in the compartment of a Russian acrobat, Akilina Petrovna, the unlikely pair team up. “Aklina” we learn means eagle, which is convenient for the plot. Like in a Dan Brown novel the pair find you  cannot trust anybody, not the consulate, not the police, not even your boss…least of all your boss.

The story has a lot of action and some interesting historic background on the fate of the Romanovs and the mentality of the Russian people.

*Unfortunately for the plausibility of the story, which was first published in 2004 ; DNA information, made public in July 2008, that had been obtained from Yekaterinburg and repeatedly tested independently reveals that the final two missing Romanov remains are indeed authentic and that the entire Romanov family housed in the Ipatiev House, Yekaterinburg were executed in the early hours of 17 July 1918.

My rating: 4 out of 5

 

 

 

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 4 star review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Romanov Prophesy” by Steve Berry

  1. Pingback: “The Eight” by Katherine Neville | jimholroyd365b

Leave a Reply

