“The Patience of the Spider” by Andrea Camilleri

P1450578

The Patience of the Spider

Having enjoyed and reviewed The Snack Thief, I was happy to sit down to an extra helping of Camilleri and his inspector Montalbano. I took this book with me on a trip to Italy, although I was travelling in the North not in Sicily. where this is set.

The Inspector has less sumptuous dishes than in the Snack Thief but he still has his share of grilled and fried mullet, an especially tasty rabbit dish and when he enters a restaurant he replies to the question : “What can I get for you, Inspector?“, jokingly saying “Everything!

At the beginning of the story the Inspector is recovering from a gunshot wound to his shoulder and he is supposed to be taking things easy, but like many famous detectives he won’t follow the doctor’s advice. A beautiful girl has gone missing, her parent have no money to pay a ransom, but the kidnapper’s seem sure the impoverished father and dying mother will be able to get their hands on a fortune.

An intriguing case which whets Montalbano’s healthy appetite. The spider’s web is often used as a metaphor for a complex case of a scheme plotted in the shadows and here it is drawn out in detail as the Inspector inspects the delicate weave of an actual web while his brain cells work on the case. Like Sherlock Holmes he gets out his magnifying glass:

Ever since Sherlock Holmes, no detective is a true detective if he doesn’t have a magnifying glass within reach.

Strewn with a host of interesting, diverse secondary characters and ripe with the essence of Italian culture, this is a filling appetiser leaving the palate wishing for some more.

My rating 4 out of 5

English Translation by Stephen Sartarelli

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 4 star review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

