“Devil’s Juggler” by Murray Smith

Devil's Juggler

“Devil’s Juggler”

This took me a while, it weighs in at a hefty 656 pages.

“I kissed that dead junkie when the vomit was warm on her kisser and I owe somebody for that.” remarks Eddie Lucco early on.

Reading that line early in the book, I wasn’t sure whether to carry on but it got better.  Eddie Lucco is a gritty detective in the NYPD with a teenage Jane Doe in the morgue, dead from experimenting with crack, Lucco  is obstinately determined to identify her, even if that means coming into the sights of the Columbia’s most dangerous drug cartel.

Meanwhile in the UK , Jardine, head of the British Secret Intelligence Service’s South American operations is planning to plant an agent in the heart of that same cartel. There is a lot of interesting detail for the nuts and bolts of such an operation.

This is a thriller with an intricately woven plot, all the threads twisted up in Colombia and held in the hands of Il padrino , a Pablo Escobar-like figure.

The Cartel is looking to expand into Europe and making a sinister deal with the Provisional IRA to distribute their product.

The interesting characters are predominantly male, the females are a mix of the dead, the long suffering wives and the potential sexual conquests of the male characters. Jardine’s peccadilloes are a serious chink in his otherwise impressive armour.

My rating 4 out of 5 (a great plot but I think the female characters could be developped more)

Body count: over 20 including at least 7 NYPD, some SAS, a couple of low life drug pushers and the Jane Doe I mentioned.

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 4 star review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

