“The Man from St Petersburg” by Ken Follett

It’s 1914, war is looming, Lord Walden a conservative peer is approached by the First Lord of the Admiralty, a young firebrand by the name of Winston Churchill. Mr. Churchill wants a favour, he wants Walden to make a deal with Russia to ensure if Germany attacks France, Russia will join with Britain to fight against Germany opening a second front. Lord Walden’s nephew is a Russian Prince, invited to London to broker a secret deal. But he isn’t the only visitor from St Petersburg. Following him is a fearless  anarchist Feliks, who intends to kill Prince Orlov to prevent Russia entering the War. The plot becomes more intriguing as we find out Feliks was once the lover of Walden’s wife and he was taken away from her and tortured by the Tsar’s secret police. Walden also has an eighteen year old daughter,  who having led a very protected existence comes to hear about the Suffragettes and wants to find out more. At one rally of the Suffragettes which turns violent, she is rescued from the violent brawl by a mysterious Russian…

The Man from St Petersburg

The Man from St. Petersburg

A page turner of a thriller, as Feliks seeks his target and the forces of Scotland Yard seek Feliks, set against the backdrop of 1914 London.

My rating: 5 out of 5

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 5 Star Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Man from St Petersburg” by Ken Follett

  1. Pingback: Books Read in 2014 | jim holroyd 365

Leave a Reply

