“Boy: Tales of Childhood” by Roald Dahl

Boy

Boy

Roald Dahl was one of the first writers I was really into. As a pre-teen I read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, Danny The Champion of the World and Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator. This book, is a collection of anecdotes, Roald Dahl tells of his childhood. It is not he points out an autobiography. These are snippets of Roald Dahl’s childhood. The beastly time he had in public schools where the cane and fagging were commonplace, and a boy could be thrashed for a hundred and one piddling little misdemeanours.

This reads in the no nonsense style of Dahl’s novels, and we can see where some of the inspiration for his famous books like “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” came from (at his school, boys were sent experimental chocolates by Cadbury’s to test out and review).

Many of the adults described are horrible like in his books. There is Mrs Pratchett who runs the local sweet shop, her hands “were black with dust and grime. They looked as though they had been putting lumps of coal on the fire all day long. And do not forget please that it was these hands and fingers that she plunged into the sweet jars…”

Dahl is very explicit about the cruel punishment of the cane and the sadism of the masters and boazers (prefects) exercising it. “Crack! It was like a rifle shot! With a very hard stroke of the cane on one’s buttocks, the time lag before you feel any pain is about four seconds. Thus, the experienced caner will always pause between strokes to allow the agony to reach its peak.”

His remembrances of childhood and school life are frank, vivid and frequently horrific. His account of the unexpected removal of his adenoids is particularly memorable:

“The tiny blade flashed in the bright light and quickly disappeared into my mouth. It went high up into the roof of my mouth, and the hand that held the blade gave four or five very quick twists and the next moment, out of my mouth into the basin came tumbling a whole mass of flesh and blood.”

In 1924 taking out a child’s adenoids or tonsils without anaesthetic was common place.

The book isn’t all horrific, there are great descriptions of family holidays in Norway and the logistical difficulties of taking a large family from Wales to Norway in the days before passenger flights.

Boy and Marquez

I felt rather self conscious reading these on the metro

This week, I have been feeling more self conscious than usual reading these two books on the metro, as (almost) no one else reads and one has a naked woman on the front and the other is a kiddie’s book.

My copy of the book also had some interesting facts about Roald Dahl in an appendix covering “Writing Tips”, “Roald Dahl’s Writing Hut” and “A Day in the Life of Roald Dahl” and it was illustrated wonderfully by Quentin Blake with some of Roald Dahl’s photographs.

My rating 4 out of 5

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 4 star review, non-fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Boy: Tales of Childhood” by Roald Dahl

  1. Pingback: “Matilda” by Roald Dahl | jimholroyd365b

Leave a Reply

