“One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez (English Translation by Gregory Rabassa)

This book had been on my want to read list for at least a decade, probably longer but not quite 100 years. I had heard it was a difficult read. My difficulty with it came from the cover, as I usually read on the metro, the depiction on the front of a naked young woman made me feel more self conscious than usual. In Tbilisi (where I live) not many people read on the metro, if they do anything other than stare into space it tends to be playing Candy Crush and similar apps on their smartphones…

One Hundred Years of Solitude

One Hundred Years of Solitude

A modern classic, Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez won the Nobel Prize for literature in 1982 (this book was first published in 1967). There are many characters in the book, often with the same name.

In less than twelve years they baptized with the name Aureliano and the last name of the mother all the sons that the colonel had implanted up and down his theater of war: seventeen.

The setting of the book is Macondo a fictitious isolated town built by the Buendia family and bounded by mountains and swamps.

Although he was given the name Jose Arcadio, they ended up calling him simply Arcadio so as to avoid confusion. 

If you try to focus on individual characters it can get very confusing, I chose to skim lightly through the book, savouring the imagery. This is the classic of magic realism, a genre you need to be in the mood for blending fantasy elements into a realistic narrative, a genre where reality and dreams meld, blurring any distinction. Like “a cup of thick and steaming chocolate.” sometimes comforting, sometimes cloyingly sweet.

The narrative doesn’t flow in a linear chronological manner, it is more of a spiral. It begins with Colonel Aureliano Buendia facing a firing squad, and frequently returns to his reflections at this time. The story meanders like a grandmother’s tales. Like much of Latin America there is a background of incessant, pointless civil wars. My copy was translated by Gregory Rabassa and I wonder what may have been lost in translation.

My rating 3 out of 5

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 3 star review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

