“The Shipping News” by E Annie Proulx

From The Ashley Book of Knots:
To prevent slipping, a knot depends on friction, and to provide friction there must be pressure of some sort.”

The Shipping News

The Shipping News

After reading two books written in sweltering heat of Panama and Portugal (The Tailor of Panama and Declares Pereira) it was refreshing to feel the cooler climes of Newfoundland, especially when the outside temperature here in Georgia can rise to 40C.

Occasionally I find when I start a book that I have read it before. It happened with McCarthy’s Bar by Pete McCarthy and The Great Pursuit by Tom Sharpe. The story seemed vaguely familiar as did the illustrations of knots at the beginning of several chapters. Checking my records I found I first read this book back in 2011, whilst the plot may not have been the most memorable, the characters are rich and the writing sublime.

“the ocean, bruise grey under the strained wet light.”

Quoyle a middle aged newspaperman has never experienced much love or praise:

“Thirty-six years old and this was the first time anybody ever said he’d done right.” (p 183)

(after showing some initiative on the newspaper).

Quoyle moved from the States to his ancestral home, Newfoundland with his two young daughters and widowed aunt after his two timing wife was killed in a motor accident.

“The Shipping News” of the title is the section that Quoyle is required to cover in The Gammy Bird a strange local newspaper along with car wrecks. The Shipping News is about second chances, will Quoyle be able to make something of his new situation? Will he find redemption for his life of failure in this bleak land?

There is a whole cast of eccentric characters in Newfoundland, one of Quoyle’s distant relatives has gone crazy:

The old man was mad, the gears of his mind stripped long ago to clashing discs edged with stubs of broken cogs.”

A possible weakness of the book is the character of Petal, Quoyle’s two timing wife, who seems too horrible and her manner of leaving them stretches credibility a little.

“I know something now  I didn’t know a year ago,” said Quoyle. 

“Petal wasn’t any good.And I think maybe that is why I loved her.”

Yes” said Wavey. “Same with Herold. It’s like you feel to yourself that is all you deserve.”

Can Quoyle and Wavey start anew? You’ll need to read the book to find out.

My rating 4 out of 5

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 4 star review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Shipping News” by E Annie Proulx

  1. Pingback: Diecasts mentioned in Literature | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

