“The Tailor of Panama” by John Le Carre

This was a bit of a trudge,I’m not sure if this were the fault of the book or me being distracted while reading it. The book is a satire of a spy story. This was my first Le Carre book, I picked it up because it was cheap (4 lari or $2.27).

The_Tailor_of_Panama_-_bookcover_

The Tailor of Panama

The setting is post Noriega Panama, the British Secret Service wish to recruit a local tailor who measures up all the important players in Panama for their suits. The idea that floats in and out of the plot is the possibility that on expiry of the Canal Treaty a Sino-Japanese initiative will seek to construct a new canal to undercut the original by reducing transit times.  Andrew Osnard, a rather overweight English slob, to commission and to gather intelligence on the matter. Osnard seeks to recruit Harry Pendel, the tailor of the title to gather such intelligence. Pendel is a skilled tailor but he has form and he also needs money having foolishly invested in a rice farm without water.

Osnard is looking to make himself wealthy on the side. Nothing much is happening in Panama and Pendel starts feeding Osnard with false information.  Both together create a situation which leads to Mickie, a  friend of the tailor committing suicide. This provides the Americans an excuse to invade  Panama.

I read the book on the metro, the lack of suspense failed to grip me, which is why it took me a month instead of a week to read. The small writing and the poor metro lighting has also caused me to consider getting some reading glasses for my 49 year old eyes.

My rating is 2.5 out of 5

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 2.5 star review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Tailor of Panama” by John Le Carre

  1. Pingback: “Mission to Paris” by Alan Furst | jimholroyd365b

Leave a Reply

