“Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck” by Jeff Kinney

The eighth book in the series, this is a little like “Dice Man“. Our “hero” Greg, having a run of bad luck, turns to a magic 8 ball to aid his decision making.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Eight Ball

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck

More of the usual antics from Greg, his plans tend to backfire, as do those of his school, when they started awarding hero points if a teacher sees a kid being kind to another kid. The kids started by faking good deeds when a teacher was around and went on to faking the hero points using a xerox machine. The teachers cottoned on, when the worst kids in class started turning in the most hero points.

This I read slower than the previous volumes, as it was the last available in Tbilisi. A ninth book “The Long Haul” I have yet to see here. So now, I guess I’m back to “proper” books for adults like the novels of William Faulkner.

My rating : 4 out of 5

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 4 star review, Bande Dessinée, children's Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

