“Lost Boy, Lost Girl” by Peter Straub

For readers of Stephen King this novel will be familiar territory. Straub’s style reminds me a lot of King, focusing on a few characters and a creepy house in an American neighbourhood.

Lost Boy Lost Girl

Lost Boy Lost Girl

I have read a lot of Stephen King and find the narrator in my head sounds the same as when I’m reading Peter Straub. Indeed, the two writers have collaborated in the past on novels like “The Talisman“, which I loved when I read it back in the eighties, but I couldn’t tell which author was writing which part. In a Sunday supplement in the eighties, horror writers were asked their favourite horror novel, and the overall most popular book was “Ghost Story” by Peter Straub. This novel isn’t quite as good as “Ghost Story” but it delivers the goods. When his mum kills herself, her son Mark becomes obsessed by a local abandoned house, which had been the home of a serial killer, who later was murdered in prison. The house may not look remarkable on the outside but inside it is worthy of Josef Fritzl…with secret passages, boarded up rooms and a chute from the top floor down to the basement. The book is a page turner, Mark disappears and his uncle Tim, a writer, starts to investigate.

My rating : 4 out of 5

Advertisements

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 4 star review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s