“Valhalla Rising” by Clive Cussler

I didn’t think they made books like this anymore. It reminds me of the seventies adventure thrillers, I used to read by Alistair MacLean and others.

Valhalla Rising

Valhalla Rising

This is a Dirk Pitt novel. Dirk is a kind of invincible protagonist in the mould of James Bond or Indiana Jones. The novel is fast paced and combines a heroic character with cutting edge and even futuristic technology and some old transport gems like a 1938 Packard Town Car. We start with the Vikings making forays into the American heartlands in the 11th century only to be massacred by the natives, leaving just a few runes to allude to their presence. Then there is a luxury cruise liner sank by nefarious means, luckily Dirk’s team of NUMA research scientists are in the vicinity and manage to save thousands from a watery grave. Dirk goes on to have a dogfight in a 1929 Ford Trimotor against a vintage triplane (pictured on the cover), there is a lot of action throughout the book. Dirk’s continual victories against an evil mastermind intent on creating an American oil monopoly, require a little suspension of disbelief, but it is certainly a pageturner. The author himself makes a cameo appearance in a catamaran in the South Pacific, helping Dirk and Al recover the NUMA research vessel Deep Encounter from the bad guys who pirated it.

Pitt studied the old man. “We’ve met before.”

“Yes, I suspect we have….I’m Clive Cussler.”

There are some science fiction elements in the book, like a super slick oil, the novel magnetic water propulsion engines of the cruise ship, an appearance of Captain Nemo’s Nautilus and even a teleporter. (“Mysterious Island” by Jules Verne)

An absorbing read with a slightly implausible heroic lead.

My rating 4 out of 5

 

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 4 star review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

