No books finished in May

It has been a long time since I failed to finish a single book in a month. What has happened is I do most of my reading on the metro and whilst I’m still making many metro journeys, I’ve been distracted by a game on my phone. I used to look disdainfully at the other travellers on their phones, the digital generation addicted to their black mirrors.

The game I have been caught up in is 2048 a number puzzle game, many of you may know. You pair number tiles with the objective of reaching 2048 (2+2=4, 4+4=8….1028+1028=2048). I have managed to reach the goal of 2048 on 4 occasions, so now the game has less hold over me and I’m doing more reading again.

you win

There are a few books I’m “Currently Reading”. I expect to finish Isaac Asimov’s “Nemesis” very soon, there is also “Where’s My Jetpack?: A Guide to the Amazing Science Fiction Future That Never Arrived.” which has short chapters on different technology that has yet to arrive, a great read for the smallest room. On my phone I started Pickwick Papers many months ago and more recently War and Peace, I’m just 3% of the way through Tolstoy’s epic, so don’t expect a review anytime soon. There are also a few books on my shelves waiting to be read.

I expect to be reviewing a few books in June.

 

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No books finished in May

  1. Good thing BookSwap comes late this month–you have some extra time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

