“Where’s my Jetpack?” by Daniel H Wilson

For a while this was my chosen reading matter for Reading in the Smallest Room.

P1600498

Where’s My Jetpack? with Matchbox Freeway Flyer

 

Daniel Wilson looks at all the gadgets and suchlike promised in science fiction books and films. Stuff like ray-guns, flying cars and underwater hotels. The tone is light-hearted, sometimes the humour seems a little forced.

There are thirty or so chapters each exploring a different item.

jetpack

contents

A chapter was usually sufficient to distract me from my early morning ablutions. There are illustrations by Richard Horne for each chapter in black, white and blue.

jet

The book published in 2007, already seems a little dated as some of the technologies like self steering cars, have made great advances in the past decade. Also, in architecture, the Burj Khalifa has sailed past Taipei 101 as the world’s tallest skyscraper.

I found the book nether sufficiently serious nor sufficiently humorous for my taste. It was at best mildly entertaining.

My rating 3 out of 5 (and feeling that maybe a little generous)

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 3 star review, non-fiction, Science Fiction, Toilet reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

