“The Collectors” by David Baldacci

P1620751

The Collectors

Some collect rare books, some collect souvenirs of their victims, I collect model cars (my model car collecting blog)

Whether they realized it or not, everyone was a collector of some sort. A lot of people migrated to the ordinary end of the spectrum, collecting stamps, coins and books. Then there were those who accumulated broken hearts or sexual conquests. … at the far end of the continuum, Roger Seagraves collected personal items from people he’d murdered…

This is the second novel about the Camel Club, I haven’t read the first and though it may flesh out the characters more, it is not necessary to read the previous book to enjoy this one. The Camel Club is a group of four civilian sleuthing misfits led by “Oliver Stone” a former CIA assassin.

The story starts with the death of a librarian in the Rare Books Room of the Library of Congress, seemingly the victim of a heart attack, his colleague Caleb of the Camel Club isn’t so sure. The US Speaker of the House is assassinated and the Camel Club think there could be a connection.

As the body count rises (I didn’t keep a tally, Emma!) the team are joined by Annabelle Conroy, a con artist fresh from an ingenious con in Atlantic City, who brings a charismatic new dimension to the team.

The book is  a page turner, I haven’t read the first book of the series but I’ll be looking out for the third (“Stone Cold”).

 

About jimholroyd365

Hi, my name is Jim, I am an Englishman living in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. I started this blog to share my interests, my photos and to make sense of my world. I take a lot of photographs of various subjects, some of which I intend to share here. I collect diecast cars and get the same thrill at 50 as I did when I was 8, when I find a car I'm searching for, Don't worry, I have a separate blog for this hobby. Please feel free to comment and ask questions on what I blog. I am quite new to this blogging, I was inspired by reading a book, which began as a blog of a London Ambulance Driver: "Blood, Sweat and Tea". I hope my blog will be entertaining and amusing, I did try stand up comedy in the UK and had seven gigs before I left to teach English in Georgia. I love reading and so the blog will include book reviews of books as I finish them.I don't know about which direction this blog will go, I am a great believer in serendipity...let the journey begin...
This entry was posted in 5 Star Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

