Tag Archives: Stephen King

“Cell” by Stephen King

“Like cheap whiskey, it’s very nasty and extremely satisfying.” wrote Stephen King describing his 53 rd book and 44th novel, “Cell“. Cellphones are everywhere these days and that is the cornerstone of this apocalyptic horror story. As he usually does, … Continue reading

Posted in 3.5 star review, Horror, Science Fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

“Lost Boy, Lost Girl” by Peter Straub

For readers of Stephen King this novel will be familiar territory. Straub’s style reminds me a lot of King, focusing on a few characters and a creepy house in an American neighbourhood. I have read a lot of Stephen King … Continue reading

Posted in 4 star review | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Two Tales of Two Stephens: Stephen Fry and Stephen King

Two famous writers. Two Stephens. Two biographies. Compare and Contrast…two C Words, Fry’s Chronicles is full of C Words, like Comedy and Cocaine and Cigarettes and College, but not the C Word except when quoting Miriam Margolyes. The Stephen King … Continue reading

Posted in 4 star review, non-fiction | Tagged , , , , , , | 1 Comment

“The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

I don’t as a rule read the book after seeing the film. But this was an exception to that rule, I even watched the movie for a second time (on imovies.ge) , when I was half way through the book. … Continue reading

Posted in 4 star review | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments